Daddy Said So

“Daddy said so”

Those are some pretty powerful words.  I’ve witnessed those words shutting down an argument just as quickly as it arose, I’ve also witnessed those words being challenged with an attitude of “we’ll see about that” followed by an investigative interrogation comprised of “Daddy, did you say…?”

When we are questioned on our authority in a given situation, we often find the need to hold up the authority of another as a justification, and having the the highest authority possible in a given situation gives us assurance that what we are saying is in fact true.

Paul begins his letter to the churches in Galatia with some very important words in establishing who is in fact speaking and why these words are important. “Paul, an Apostle – not from men nor through man, but through Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised Him from the dead – and all the brothers who are with me.”

Paul is about to bring some difficult words to a group of people who have been receiving some conflicting messages and the only way he can do so with any authority in an already confusing conversation is by the authority that has been given to him by God.  The people giving the Galatians mixed messages are self appointed, they’ve developed a system of deciding how things should be and who fits in where, and in doing so, they’ve placed themselves in charge.

I guess practically speaking this is where I find a tension.  Living a life that is truly connected to the Father will undoubtedly lead me to speaking into the lives of others.  In fact, my role as the Dean of Students at a Bible School requires that I am prepared to do so at any given time.  I believe that I am here as a result of God’s call on my family and His leading us here, so I can, in my role say “Jay, an Apostle – not from men nor through man, but through Jesus Christ and God the Father…” But I am also a deeply flawed human being capable of twisting reality so that all things lead to my very own selfish ambition and personal betterment, which makes me entirely capable of placing myself in charge, or trumpeting my own authority.

To my knowledge, I am inclined to live as the former not the latter, but I’d be a fool to ignore that capacity, so how do you ensure that you walk in a manner worthy of your calling? (Eph 4:1)

Daddy said so.

It’s only in a firmly rooted understanding of the knowledge that I’ve been commissioned by my father in heaven that I can operate with any assurance.

Daddy said so can go one of two ways though; I can choose to use the assurance of calling as a blanket of permission to behave how I choose, or I can look to that call as formative and walk in the the identity that it shapes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

