April Showers…

I stumbled across an interesting thought about spring as I read about King David. 2 Samuel 11:1 which is the passage where we read about him failing miserably as he takes Bathsheba as his wife, kills her husband. The passage says “In the spring of the year, the time when kings go out to battle…” Actually, if you look through scripture, this comes up often, this idea that springtime is a time for war pops up all throughout the time of the kings. As I’ve been pondering spring in a spiritual light, this thought brings new light to my feelings about springtime.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about spring and how we long for it at this time of year, because it brings with it a newness of life. I’ve thought about how around this time of year, I often find myself longing for a newness of spiritual life, this feeling that my spiritual days have been feeling short and that there is this lengthening of time to spend with the Lord around the corner. Spring is so often when we begin to make plans for new ventures or adventures. We look ahead to the rest of the year and incorporate changes that will set us up for success in the forthcoming time. When we see the Spring as the jumping-off point for the things ahead there is almost an urgency connected to Spring. When we connect these realities to the spiritual lives we desire, we must inevitably uncover the same sense of urgency. This is my reality. My wife needs me to be in love with God, my children need me to be in love with God, and my church needs me to be in love with God. Otherwise, I have robbed them of a picture of a life worth living.

Enter wartime scenario. This idea that springtime equals wartime, transfers into our spiritual lives. There is indeed a war for our affections and the enemy wants us to forget our true love, and it only makes sense that at this time of spiritual awakening of sorts that he would wage war.

I wonder if it is only me who sees or feels this, am I making up a spiritual battle that doesn’t exist? Or is there something to this idea of spiritual seasons, I know that when David did not prepare himself for battle and stayed home, he fell into sin, and for that very reason we must gird ourselves with the armour of God and prepare for the battle of a lifetime.

How? that’s probably another blog post.

Leave a comment